Don’t Mess Around with Your 1st DUI in Arizona

If you have been arrested for your 1st DUI in the state of Arizona, you need to be very careful. While 1st DUIs can often be dismissed or reduced with the right DUI lawyer, the penalties for a 1st DUI can be very severe. Arizona was recently voted ‘Toughest state in the Nation on DUIs’.

Non-Extreme 1st DUI

BAC .08 – .14

  1. Minimum 10 days jail with 9 suspended upon completion of alcohol screening and treatment.
  2. Minimum $250 fine plus surcharge.
  3. Assessments: $500 to the Prison Construction Fund (PCF) and $500 to Public Safety Equipment Fund (PSEF).
  4. The Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  5. Jail fees.
  6. 8 points on your MVD record.

Extreme 1st DUI

BAC 0.15 to 0.199

  1. 30 days jail.
  2. $250 fine plus 84% surcharge.
  3. Assessments: $1000 to PCF and $1000 to PSEF.
  4. An additional $250 assessment.
  5. The Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  6. Jail fees.
  7. Alcohol Screening and Treatment.
  8. 8 points on your MVD record.

Super Extreme 1st DUI

BAC.20 and above

  1. 45 days jail.
  2. $500 fine plus 84% surcharge.
  3. Assessment $1,000 to PCF and $1,000 to PSEF
  4. An additional $250 assessment.
  5. The Ignition Interlock Devise for 18 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  6. Jail fees.
  7. Alcohol Screening and Treatment.
  8. 8 points of your MVD record.

Beating a 1st DUI in Arizona

There are lots of ways to win DUI cases in Arizona, and also several ways to get charges reduced & penalties minimized, to protect your drivers license, your job, and more. Some of the most common DUI defenses are:

  • Challenging The Legality Of A DUI Checkpoint Stop
  • Disputing Suspicion You Were Under The Influence
  • Questioning The Field Sobriety Tests
  • Challenging BAC Results From A Breathalyzer / Breath Test
  • Challenging The Results Of Blood Tests
  • Showing A DUI Checkpoint Arrest Was Illegal
  • Asserting An Officer’s Failure To Read Miranda Rights
  • Citing A Failure To Issue Implied Consent Warning
  • Alleging Racial Profiling Or Other Misconduct
  • Making A “Rising Blood Alcohol Content” Argument

Paul Ramos Gets 1st DUI Charges Dismissed

Choosing the best Arizona DUI Lawyer is too important of a decision to hire just any attorney. We have a high dismissal rate on 1st DUIs in Phoenix, Scottsdale, and statewide, and have for 23 years! I will conduct a thorough investigation including obtaining and reviewing the police report and .BAC results for inaccuracies, inconsistencies, and/or omissions of relevant facts.

If You’ve Been Arrested for a DUI in Arizona, Call DUI Lawyer Paul Ramos at (480) 247-8558 for a Free, Confidential Case Evaluation.

Arrested or charged?

Don’t talk to the police without the presence of an attorney.

DUI OR CRIMINAL CONVICTION?

Avoid the long lasting repercussion of a conviction.

don’t plead guilty!

There are many ways to beat charges and get penalties reduced.

GET A FREE CASE EVALUATION

Call or message our law firm 24/7/365.

Mr. Ramos managed to make it as bearable as possible, and provided an excellent result that will allow me to live my life. Throughout the process, I was never given any reason to doubt his skill or integrity. He pursued all possible legal routes to benefit me, and was always just a call away. I would recommend him to anyone, and I trust him completely. I hope you never have to face felony charges, but if you do, you will be satisfied indeed if Mr. Ramos represents you. He's awesome!!!” – John Sumner, Scottsdale AZ

Case Results

PAUL RAMOS HAS WON 1000'S OF CRIMINAL & DUI CASES IN ARIZONA. HERE ARE JUST A FEW RECENT VICTORIES:
  • DUI .11, Maricopa County – No jail/Reduced to Reckless
  • Domestic Violence, Phoenix – Charges Dismissed
  • Aggravated Assault, Maricopa County – Not Guilty
  • Extreme DUI, Maricopa County – Not Guilty
  • Felony Theft, Maricopa County – Not Guilty

Call For a Free Consultation, 24 Hours At 480.247.8558 If you have to leave a message, we'll contact you promptly!