Arizona DUI Penalties

The DUI Laws in Arizona Are Some of the Toughest Laws in the Country

The DUI laws in Arizona are some of the toughest laws in the country. A conviction for a DUI in Arizona can potentially negatively affect a person’s education, employment, and life.

As a certified specialist in criminal law and long time Arizona DUI attorney, Paul Ramos has the knowledge to effectively explain the DUI penalties relevant to your particular DUI case. He will strive to develop a defense, argument or plan to help eliminate or reduce your exposure to jail time and significant fines and fees.

When arrested for or charged with a DUI or DUI related offense, contact Paul Ramos for a complete evaluation of your case and explanation of potential DUI penalty ramifications. Listed below are the minimum penalties for various DUI offenses.

ARS § 28-1381 (Non-Extreme DUI)

First Offense

  1. 10 days jail with 9 days suspended upon the completion of alcohol screening and treatment.
  2. $250 fine plus 84% surcharge.
  3. Assessments: $500 to the Prison Construction Fund (PCF) and $500 to the Public Safety Equipment Fund (PSEF).
  4. The Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  5. Jail fees.
  6. 8 points on your MVD record.

Second Offense (Prior DUI within 84 months)

  1. 90 days jail with 60 suspended upon the completion of alcohol screening and treatment.
  2. $500 fine plus 84% surcharge.
  3. At least 30 hours of community service.
  4. Assessments: $1250 to PCF and $1250 to PSEF.
  5. The Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  6. Jail fees.
  7. Revocation of Driving Privilege.
  8. 8 points on your MVD record.

ARS § 28-1382 (Extreme DUI)

First Offense-Alcohol Content Above .15

  1. 30 days jail
  2. $250 fine plus 84% surcharge.
  3. Assessments: $1000 to PCF and $1000 to PSEF.
  4. An additional $250 assessment.
  5. The Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  6. Jail fees.
  7. Alcohol Screening and Treatment.
  8. 8 points on your MVD record.

First Offense-Alcohol Content Above .20

  1. 45 days jail.
  2. $500 fine plus 84% surcharge.
  3. Assessments: $1000 to PCF and $1000 to PSEF.
  4. An additional $250 assessment.
  5. The Ignition Interlock Device for 18 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  6. Jail fees.
  7. Alcohol Screening and Treatment.
  8. 8 points on your MVD record.

Second Offense-Alcohol Content Above .15

  1. 120 days jail.
  2. $500 fine plus 84% surcharge.
  3. Assessments: $1250 to PCF and $1250 to PSEF.
  4. An additional $250 assessment.
  5. The Ignition Interlock Device for 12 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  6. Jail fees.
  7. Revocation of Driving P rivilege.
  8. Alcohol Screening and Treatment.
  9. 8 points on your MVD record.

Second Offense-Alcohol Content Above .20

  1. 180 days jail (The Max).
  2. $1000 fine plus 84% surcharge.
  3. Assessments: $1250 to PCF and $1250 to PSEF.
  4. An additional $250 assessment.
  5. The Ignition Interlock Device for 24 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  6. Jail fees.
  7. Revocation of Driving Privilege.
  8. Alcohol Screening and Treatment.
  9. 8 points on your MVD record.

ARS § 28-1383 (Aggravated DUI-Felony Offenses)

This statute encompasses several different felony DUI offenses including both class 4 and 6 felonies. The most common Aggravated DUI is the class 4 felony (the most serious Aggravated DUI offense). The minimum penalties for this offense include:

  1. 4 months in prison (8 months if you have 3 or more DUI convictions within an 84 month period).
  2. $750 fine plus 84% surcharge.
  3. Assessments: $1500 to PCF and $1500 to PSEF.
  4. An additional $250 assessment.
  5. The Ignition Interlock Device for 24 months pursuant to ARS § 28-3319.
  6. Revocation of Driving Privilege.
  7. Alcohol Screening and Treatment.

Although still very serious, the other Aggravated DUI offense penalties include jail time rather than prison time.

If you encounter any DUI or Aggravated DUI charge, contact Paul Ramos immediately to discuss your case and your rights. An immediate, thorough and aggressive investigation of your matter can potentially help to preserve or build evidence crucial to the defense of your DUI case.

If You’ve Been Arrested for a DUI in Arizona, Call DUI Lawyer Paul Ramos at (480) 247-8558 for a Free, Confidential Case Evaluation.

Arrested or charged?

Don’t talk to the police without the presence of an attorney.

DUI OR CRIMINAL CONVICTION?

Avoid the long lasting repercussion of a conviction.

don’t plead guilty!

There are many ways to beat charges and get penalties reduced.

GET A FREE CASE EVALUATION

Call or message our law firm 24/7/365.

Mr. Ramos managed to make it as bearable as possible, and provided an excellent result that will allow me to live my life. Throughout the process, I was never given any reason to doubt his skill or integrity. He pursued all possible legal routes to benefit me, and was always just a call away. I would recommend him to anyone, and I trust him completely. I hope you never have to face felony charges, but if you do, you will be satisfied indeed if Mr. Ramos represents you. He's awesome!!!” – John Sumner, Scottsdale AZ

Case Results

PAUL RAMOS HAS WON 1000'S OF CRIMINAL & DUI CASES IN ARIZONA. HERE ARE JUST A FEW RECENT VICTORIES:
  • DUI .11, Maricopa County – No jail/Reduced to Reckless
  • Domestic Violence, Phoenix – Charges Dismissed
  • Aggravated Assault, Maricopa County – Not Guilty
  • Extreme DUI, Maricopa County – Not Guilty
  • Felony Theft, Maricopa County – Not Guilty

Call For a Free Consultation, 24 Hours At 480.247.8558 If you have to leave a message, we'll contact you promptly!