In Arizona, there are a wide range of sex crimes that can result in misdemeanor or felony charges. Sex offense convictions can often lead to lengthy prison sentences. An individual convicted of a sex crime may also be required to register as a sex offender and may be placed on lifetime probation. If you are being investigated for, or have been charged with, an Arizona sex crime, you need a criminal defense attorney to protect your rights. The Ramos Law Firm has nearly 30 years of experience defending individuals who have been charged with sex crimes in Arizona.
Some common sex crimes in Arizona include criminal offenses such as Rape (Sexual Assault), Sexual Abuse, and Child Molestation.
Sexual assault, or rape, is defined as an act of intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person without that person’s consent. An individual who commits sexual assault will be charged with a felony.
Sexual Abuse is defined as an act of intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual contact with any person who is 15 or more years of age without that person’s consent. The law also specifically defines the meaning of “sexual contact.” If the person is under 15 years of age, a sexual abuse charge can be brought if the sexual contact involves only a female breast, and this crime is also considered a Dangerous Crime Against Children (DCAC). Depending on the circumstances, sexual abuse crimes are charged as different classes of felonies.
A person commits sexual conduct with a minor by intentionally or knowingly engaging in sexual intercourse or oral sexual contact with any person who is under eighteen years of age. If the minor is under 15 years of age, the crime is a class 2 felony. Sexual conduct with a minor who is at least 15 years of age is charged as a class 6 felony. If the individual charged is or was in a position of trust this crime will be charged as a class 2 felony.
Child Molestation is defined as an act of intentionally or knowingly engaging in, or causing a person to engage in, sexual contact (except sexual contact with the female breast) with a child under 15 years of age. Child Molestation is charged as a felony and considered a DCAC.
There are many other types of sex crimes under Arizona law including:
If you are charged with violating Arizona sex offense laws, the penalties can be severe and haunt you for the rest of your life. Generally, penalties include fines, prison sentences, being required to register as a sex offender, and even losing the right to see your own children. There are also harsh mandatory sentencing guidelines imposed for sexual crimes that are charged as a Dangerous Crime Against Children.
CALL 24/7 FOR A FREE, CONFIDENTIAL CONSULTATION AT 480.247.8558 if you have to leave a message, we'll contact you promptly!